08.11.2022 - 07.12.2022

My Echo, My Shadow and Me

08.11.2022 - 07.12.2022

Maison du Savoir, Esch-Belval

See All events

Disciplines

Visual Arts

Project Partner

Art as Experience

Description

'My Echo, My Shadow and Me' is an art and social project on the topic of how digital culture influences the identity of younger generations and how technological tools (e.g. cameras, smartphones and social media) can be used as a method of investigation and understanding of the self and one’s own community. The project has regular autobiographical workshops at its core, led by artist and facilitator Cristina Nuñez between February and June 2022, and involving groups of local young people (15-26) that will produce participative artworks with an autobiographical focus and a social ethos. The workshops will involve three groups:  

1: Young people with addictions, in collaboration with Impuls Association.  

2: Young immigrant workers, in collaboration with Ryse and Passarell Associations.

3: Adolescents at a local secondary school.  

Nuñez will hold all the SPEX workshops, assisted by a small group of young local people, who will be trained as SPEX facilitators by Nuñez in 2021. Professionals and social workers who work with youth will also attend a SPEX workshop in 2021 (see project dossier).   

Additionally, the groups will meet with curator Carolina Lio on how participative art helps shaping communities and empowering youth; the group will meet again with Lio to prepare an exhibition presenting the outcome of the workshops. The exhibition will be held at the University of Luxembourg in Esch, made accessible online through a dedicated website, and accompanied by a publication.

Text provided by the project partner

Read more

Events

08.11.2022 - 07.12.2022 • 09:00 - 20:00

My Echo, My Shadow and Me

  • Visual Arts
  • Exhibition
Maison du Savoir, entrance, ground floor, Avenue de l'Université, L-4365 Esch-sur-Alzette, Esch-sur-Alzette Belval
English, French

Free

Past Events

16.11.2022 • 19:00 - 

Opening reception

  • Visual Arts
  • Exhibition
Maison des Arts et des Etudiants, Cube, Av. de la Fonte, Esch-sur-Alzette Belval

Free

More info

Share this page

About

Cristina Nuñez is a self-taught artist photographer and video-maker, whose works have been shown in exhibitions worldwide, published in monographic and collective books and are part of private and public collections. Since 2004 Nuñez is the creator and facilitator of The Self-Portrait Experience dispositive, involving over 3700 people around the world. In 2020 Nuñez obtained a PhD in research on her practice and on SPEX at the University of Derby, UK.  

Carolina Lio (1984, Italy) is an independent curator and university lecturer based in London. She is founding director of Looking Forward, London; curator at Visible, Cittadellarte - Fondazione Pistoletto / Fondazione Zegna, Italy; associate curator at The Self-Portrait Experience, Switzerland; and associate curator at ACAVA, London.  

Paul di Felice (1953, Differdange, Luxembourg) is a Doctor in Visual Arts and Senior Lecturer in Art History and Art Pedagogy at the University of Luxembourg. He has been a workshop leader of the annual Art Workshop organised by Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain in collaboration with the University of Luxembourg, since 1998. He is an independent curator of international contemporary photography exhibitions and he co-organises the European Month of Photography (www.emoplux.lu).

08.11.2022 - 07.12.2022

My Echo, My Shadow and Me

08.11.2022 - 07.12.2022

Maison du Savoir, Esch-Belval

Disziplinen

Bildende Kunst

Projektpartner

Art as Experience

Beschreibung

"My Echo, My Shadow and Me" ist ein Kunst- und Sozialprojekt, das sich mit der Frage befasst, wie die digitale Kultur die Identität der jüngeren Generationen beeinflusst und wie technologische Werkzeuge (z. B. Kameras, Smartphones und soziale Medien) als Methode zur Erforschung und zum Verständnis des eigenen Selbstes und der eigenen Gemeinschaft eingesetzt werden können. Im Mittelpunkt des Projekts stehen regelmäßige autobiografische Workshops, die von Februar bis Juni 2022 von der Künstlerin und Moderatorin Cristina Nuñez geleitet werden und an denen Gruppen junger Menschen (15-26 Jahre) aus der Region teilnehmen, um partizipative Kunstwerke mit autobiografischem Schwerpunkt und sozialem Ethos zu schaffen. An den Workshops werden drei Gruppen teilnehmen:  

1: Junge Menschen mit Suchtproblemen, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Verein Impuls. 

2: Junge Arbeitsmigranten, in Zusammenarbeit mit den Vereinen Ryse und Passarell. 

3: Jugendliche an einer örtlichen Sekundarschule. 

Nuñez wird alle SPEX-Workshops durchführen, unterstützt von einer kleinen Gruppe junger Menschen vor Ort, die von Nuñez im Jahr 2021 zu SPEX-Moderatoren ausgebildet werden. Fachleute und Sozialarbeiter, die mit Jugendlichen arbeiten, werden 2021 ebenfalls an einem SPEX-Workshop teilnehmen (siehe Projektdossier).   

Darüber hinaus werden sich die Gruppen mit der Kuratorin Carolina Lio darüber austauschen, wie partizipative Kunst dazu beiträgt, Gemeinschaften zu gestalten und Jugendliche zu stärken. Die Ausstellung wird in der Universität Luxemburg in Esch stattfinden, über eine spezielle Website online zugänglich gemacht und von einer Publikation begleitet werden.

Der Text wurde vom Projektpartner zur Verfügung gestellt

Mehr lesen

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

08.11.2022 - 07.12.2022 • 09:00 - 20:00

My Echo, My Shadow and Me

  • Bildende Kunst
  • Ausstellung
Maison du Savoir, entrance, ground floor, Avenue de l'Université, L-4365 Esch-sur-Alzette, Esch-sur-Alzette Belval
Englisch, Französisch
Alle öffentlichen

Kostenlos

16.11.2022 • 19:00 - 

Opening reception

  • Bildende Kunst
  • Ausstellung
Maison des Arts et des Etudiants, Cube, Av. de la Fonte, Esch-sur-Alzette Belval
Alle öffentlichen

Kostenlos

More info

Diese Seite teilen

Über

Cristina Nuñez ist eine autodidaktische Fotografin und Videokünstlerin, deren Werke in Ausstellungen auf der ganzen Welt gezeigt wurden, in monografischen und kollektiven Büchern veröffentlicht wurden und sich in privaten und öffentlichen Sammlungen befinden. Seit 2004 ist Nuñez die Schöpferin und Moderatorin des Dispositivs The Self-Portrait Experience, an dem über 3700 Menschen auf der ganzen Welt teilnehmen. Im Jahr 2020 promovierte Nuñez an der Universität von Derby, Großbritannien, über seine Praxis und über SPEX.  

Carolina Lio (1984, Italien) ist eine unabhängige Kuratorin und Universitätsdozentin in London. Sie ist Gründungsdirektorin von Looking Forward, London; Kuratorin bei Visible, Cittadellarte - Fondazione Pistoletto / Fondazione Zegna, Italien; assoziierte Kuratorin bei The Self-Portrait Experience, Schweiz; und assoziierte Kuratorin bei ACAVA, London.  

Paul di Felice (1953, Differdingen, Luxemburg) ist Doktor der bildenden Künste und Dozent für Kunstgeschichte und Kunstpädagogik an der Universität Luxemburg. Seit 1998 ist er Workshopleiter des jährlichen Kunstworkshops, der von Casino Luxembourg - Forum d'art contemporain in Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Luxemburg organisiert wird. Er ist ein unabhängiger Kurator von internationalen Ausstellungen zeitgenössischer Fotografie und Mitorganisator des Europäischen Monats der Fotografie (www.emoplux.lu).