08.11.2022 - 07.12.2022

My Echo, My Shadow and Me

08.11.2022 - 07.12.2022

Maison du Savoir, Esch-Belval

See All events

Disciplines

Visual Arts

Project Partner

Art as Experience

Description

'My Echo, My Shadow and Me' is an art and social project on the topic of how digital culture influences the identity of younger generations and how technological tools (e.g. cameras, smartphones and social media) can be used as a method of investigation and understanding of the self and one’s own community. The project has regular autobiographical workshops at its core, led by artist and facilitator Cristina Nuñez between February and June 2022, and involving groups of local young people (15-26) that will produce participative artworks with an autobiographical focus and a social ethos. The workshops will involve three groups:  

1: Young people with addictions, in collaboration with Impuls Association.  

2: Young immigrant workers, in collaboration with Ryse and Passarell Associations.

3: Adolescents at a local secondary school.  

Nuñez will hold all the SPEX workshops, assisted by a small group of young local people, who will be trained as SPEX facilitators by Nuñez in 2021. Professionals and social workers who work with youth will also attend a SPEX workshop in 2021 (see project dossier).   

Additionally, the groups will meet with curator Carolina Lio on how participative art helps shaping communities and empowering youth; the group will meet again with Lio to prepare an exhibition presenting the outcome of the workshops. The exhibition will be held at the University of Luxembourg in Esch, made accessible online through a dedicated website, and accompanied by a publication.

Text provided by the project partner

Read more

Events

08.11.2022 - 07.12.2022 • 09:00 - 20:00

My Echo, My Shadow and Me

  • Visual Arts
  • Exhibition
Maison du Savoir, entrance, ground floor, Avenue de l'Université, L-4365 Esch-sur-Alzette, Esch-sur-Alzette Belval
English, French

Free

Past Events

16.11.2022 • 19:00 - 

Opening reception

  • Visual Arts
  • Exhibition
Maison des Arts et des Etudiants, Cube, Av. de la Fonte, Esch-sur-Alzette Belval

Free

More info

Share this page

About

Cristina Nuñez is a self-taught artist photographer and video-maker, whose works have been shown in exhibitions worldwide, published in monographic and collective books and are part of private and public collections. Since 2004 Nuñez is the creator and facilitator of The Self-Portrait Experience dispositive, involving over 3700 people around the world. In 2020 Nuñez obtained a PhD in research on her practice and on SPEX at the University of Derby, UK.  

Carolina Lio (1984, Italy) is an independent curator and university lecturer based in London. She is founding director of Looking Forward, London; curator at Visible, Cittadellarte - Fondazione Pistoletto / Fondazione Zegna, Italy; associate curator at The Self-Portrait Experience, Switzerland; and associate curator at ACAVA, London.  

Paul di Felice (1953, Differdange, Luxembourg) is a Doctor in Visual Arts and Senior Lecturer in Art History and Art Pedagogy at the University of Luxembourg. He has been a workshop leader of the annual Art Workshop organised by Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain in collaboration with the University of Luxembourg, since 1998. He is an independent curator of international contemporary photography exhibitions and he co-organises the European Month of Photography (www.emoplux.lu).

08.11.2022 - 07.12.2022

My Echo, My Shadow and Me

08.11.2022 - 07.12.2022

Maison du Savoir, Esch-Belval

Disciplines

Arts visuels

Porteur de projet

Art as Experience

Description

« My Echo, My Shadow and Me » est un projet artistique et social sur le thème de l'influence de la culture numérique sur l'identité des jeunes générations et sur la manière dont les outils technologiques (par exemple, les appareils photo, les smartphones et les médias sociaux) peuvent être utilisés comme méthode d'investigation et de compréhension de soi et de sa propre communauté. Le projet s'articule autour d'ateliers autobiographiques réguliers dirigés par l'artiste et animatrice Cristina Nuñez entre février et juin 2022, et impliquant des groupes de jeunes de la région (15-26 ans) qui produiront des œuvres d'art participatives à caractère autobiographique et à vocation sociale. Les ateliers impliqueront trois groupes :  

1 : des jeunes souffrant de toxicomanie, en collaboration avec l'association Impuls.  

2 : des jeunes travailleurs immigrés, en collaboration avec les associations Ryse et Passarell  

3 : des adolescents d'une école secondaire locale  

Cristina Nuñez organisera tous les ateliers SPEX, avec l'aide d'un petit groupe de jeunes locaux, qui seront formés par Nuñez en 2021 pour devenir des animateurs SPEX. Les professionnels et les travailleurs sociaux qui travaillent avec les jeunes participeront également à un atelier SPEX en 2021.   

En outre, les groupes rencontreront la conservatrice Carolina Lio sur la manière dont l'art participatif contribue à façonner les communautés et à donner du pouvoir aux jeunes ; le groupe se réunira à nouveau avec Lio pour préparer une exposition présentant les résultats des ateliers. L'exposition se tiendra à l'Université du Luxembourg à Esch, sera accessible en ligne via un site web dédié, et sera accompagnée d'une publication.

Texte fourni par le partenaire de projet

en savoir plus

Évènements passés

08.11.2022 - 07.12.2022 • 09:00 - 20:00

My Echo, My Shadow and Me

  • Arts visuels
  • Exposition
Maison du Savoir, entrance, ground floor, Avenue de l'Université, L-4365 Esch-sur-Alzette, Esch-sur-Alzette Belval
Anglais, Français
Tous public

Gratuit

16.11.2022 • 19:00 - 

Opening reception

  • Arts visuels
  • Exposition
Maison des Arts et des Etudiants, Cube, Av. de la Fonte, Esch-sur-Alzette Belval
Tous public

Gratuit

Plus d'infos

Partagez cette page

À propos

Cristina Nuñez est une artiste autodidacte, photographe et vidéaste, dont les œuvres ont été présentées dans des expositions dans le monde entier, publiées dans des ouvrages monographiques et collectifs et font partie de collections privées et publiques. Depuis 2004, Mme Nuñez est la créatrice et l'animatrice du dispositif The Self-Portrait Experience, auquel participent plus de 3700 personnes dans le monde entier. En 2020, Nuñez a obtenu un doctorat en recherche sur sa pratique et sur le SPEX à l'université de Derby, au Royaume-Uni.  

Carolina Lio (1984, Italie) est une commissaire indépendante et une conférencière universitaire basée à Londres. Elle est directrice fondatrice de Looking Forward, Londres ; commissaire d'exposition à Visible, Cittadellarte - Fondazione Pistoletto / Fondazione Zegna, Italie ; commissaire associée à The Self-Portrait Experience, Suisse ; et commissaire associée à ACAVA, Londres.  

Paul di Felice (1953, Differdange, Luxembourg) est docteur en arts visuels, maître de conférences en histoire de l'art et en pédagogie de l'art à l'université du Luxembourg. Depuis 1998, il dirige l'atelier d'art annuel organisé par Casino Luxembourg - Forum d'art contemporain en collaboration avec l'Université du Luxembourg. Il est commissaire indépendant d'expositions internationales de photographie contemporaine et il co-organise le Mois européen de la photographie (www.emoplux.lu).