01.08.2022 - 31.10.2022

"Petite maison"

© Eric Chenal

01.08.2022 - 31.10.2022

Disciplines

Architecture, Multidisciplinary

Project Partner

Université du Luxembourg

Description

'La petite maison' (the small house) is presented as a place of creation, research, production and meeting located on the campus for the duration of the cultural year 2022, in collaboration with other places, around the theme of circularity. The house is intended to be small (+-100m2), designed by architects and engineers from uni.lu, in cooperation with a series of local and international partners. The house will be ephemeral in nature and will be dismantled before the end of 2022, as it will be deconstructed and the parts moved for reuse or reassembled in whole or in part. The process project will be documented and the result disseminated. It is intended to work as far as possible with salvaged, second-hand, recycled or renewable materials and raw materials with a high potential for reuse. Beyond the story of the materials, the project will also serve to tell the ideas of partner projects, in order to reinforce the theme of a resilient architectural culture and circularity in a broad sense. During the summer, the house will be open to visitors. A programme around the issue of circularity will take place on site with meetings between the different actors, including some guest speakers. Other events, such as a second-hand materials fair, could take place there.

Text provided by the project partner

Read more

Past Events

01.08.2022 - 31.10.2022

Pavillon actif (accueil, mini-bar, mini-scène, conférences et/ou autres événements publics, préparation de la déconstruction-reconstruction…)

Architect and guest-professor Carole Schmit together with research & development specialist Dragos Ghioca, contribute on behalf of the University of Luxembourg to the event ESCH-SUR-ALZETTE EUROPEAN CAPITAL OF CULTURE 2022 with Petite Maison on the Belval campus. The house is designed and produced in cooperation with a series of local and international partners and experts by curating a collaborative design on circularity The steel structure of the house is based on developments lead by Prof. Christoph Odenbreit of the ArcelorMittal Chair of Steel Construction at the University of Luxembourg. Petite Maison, a performance act in three phases, is under construction from May 2d until 29th of July 2022. The house will be open to the public from 1st of August 2022 until 31st of October 2022 for visits, social gatherings and events. From November until end of December Petite Maison will be deconstructed and the materials relocated. Free guided visits can be booked on the website as well as the programme and news.

Read more Read less
  • Architecture
  • Other
Belval, Devant la Maison du Savoir, Esch-sur-Alzette Belval
English, French

Free

More info

15.09.2022 - 31.10.2022 • 07:30 - 15:00

Petite Maison en collaboration avec Restopolis: cafétéria avec menu vegan et végétarien.

  • Architecture
  • Other
Belval, Place de l'Université, Esch-sur-Alzette Belval
English, French

Free

More info

Share this page

About

Carole Schmit has been an architect at the Administration des bâtiments publics since the end of 2015, managing large-scale projects. In addition to this job, she has been a guest lecturer at the University of Luxembourg for almost 4 years in the framework of the Master in Architecture. Before joining the public service, she was founder and managing partner of Polaris Architects for 15 years. She has proven experience in the design and monitoring of quality works. Her role as coordinator of multi-disciplinary teams and working groups is recognised in the field. As a result, her personal work, as well as that of the Polaris office, has been nominated, exhibited and published on several occasions in both local and international media. Besides her main function as a design architect, Carole Schmit has always been involved in the academic world, notably through her teaching work in various universities, and in particular through her work on the creation of a Master in Architecture at the University of Luxembourg. In addition, she is regularly invited to participate in exhibition projects, writing articles or interventions in collaboration with other bodies, particularly within art centres such as Mudam.

Dragos Ghioca is part of the research and design team, under the direction of Carole Schmit, at the University of Luxembourg for the project PETITE MAISON. Together with various specialists and partners, he is developing the project of a building that thematises circularity and resilient architecture in the framework of the European Capital of Culture Esch2022. In 2019, he graduated from the Master in Architecture, European Urbanisation and Globalisation at the University of Luxembourg and was awarded the Ordre des Architectes prize for his master thesis: 'Halle des Soufflantes - Industrial Heritage as a Spatial Resource'. Before coming to Luxembourg, he studied at the University of Architecture and Urbanism 'Ion Mincu' in Bucharest, Romania and at the University of Liège, Belgium (B.Arch). During his studies in Luxembourg, he worked, among other places, at the Museum of Modern Art (MUDAM) and was involved as a student assistant in various academic projects.

15.07.2022 - 27.01.2023

Petite maison

© Eric Chenal

15.07.2022 - 27.01.2023

Disziplinen

Architektur, Multidisziplinär

Projektpartner

Université du Luxembourg

Beschreibung

"Petite maison" (Das kleine Haus) wird als ein Ort des Schaffens, der Forschung, der Produktion und der Begegnung präsentiert, der sich für die Dauer des Kulturjahres 2022 auf dem Campus befindet und mit anderen Orten rund um das Thema der Kreislaufwirtschaft vernetzt ist. Das Haus soll klein sein (+-100m2) und wurde von Architekten und Ingenieuren der uni.lu in Zusammenarbeit mit einer Reihe von lokalen und internationalen Partnern entworfen. Das Haus wird von vorübergehender Natur sein und vor Ende 2022 abgebaut werden, da es dekonstruiert und die Teile zur Wiederverwendung transportiert oder ganz oder teilweise wieder aufgebaut werden sollen. Das Prozessprojekt wird dokumentiert und die Ergebnisse werden verbreitet. Es ist beabsichtigt, so weit wie möglich mit geborgenen, gebrauchten, recycelten oder erneuerbaren Materialien und Rohstoffen mit hohem Wiederverwendungspotenzial zu arbeiten. Über die Geschichte der Materialien hinaus wird das Projekt auch dazu dienen, die Ideen von komplizierten Projekten zu erzählen, um das Thema einer widerstandsfähigen architektonischen Kultur und der Kreislaufwirtschaft im weiteren Sinne zu stärken. Im Sommer wird das Haus für Besucher geöffnet sein. Vor Ort wird ein Programm rund um das Thema Kreislaufwirtschaft mit Treffen zwischen den verschiedenen Akteuren stattfinden, zu denen auch einige Referenten eingeladen werden. Auch andere Veranstaltungen, wie eine Gebrauchtmaterialbörse, könnten dort stattfinden.

Der Text wurde vom Projektpartner zur Verfügung gestellt

Mehr lesen

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

15.07.2022 - 16.09.2022 • 09:00 - 17:00

Workshops

  • Architektur
  • Atelier / Werkstatt
Petite Maison, Devant la Maison du Savoir, 2, avenue de l'Université | L-4365, Esch-sur-Alzette Belval
Englisch, Französisch
19 Jahre und 65

15.09.2022 - 31.10.2022 • 07:30 - 15:00

Petite Maison en collaboration avec Restopolis: cafétéria avec menu vegan et végétarien.

  • Architektur
  • Andere
Petite Maison, 2, avenue de l'Université | L-4365, Esch-sur-Alzette Belval
Englisch, Französisch
Alle öffentlichen

16.09.2022 • 09:00 - 16:00

Circularité dans la construction. Un cas d'école : Petite Maison à Belval

  • Architektur
  • Konferenz
Technoport, TECHNOPORT SA – BELVAL 9, avenue des Hauts-Fourneaux L-4362 Esch-sur-Alzette, Esch-sur-Alzette Belval
Englisch, Französisch
19 Jahre und 65

16.09.2022 • 12:00 - 14:00

Ouverture de la Petite Maison

  • Architektur
  • Andere
Petite Maison, Devant la Maison du Savoir, 2, avenue de l'Université | L-4365, Esch-sur-Alzette Belval
Englisch, Französisch
19 Jahre und 65

16.12.2022 - 27.01.2023 • 09:00 - 17:00

Exposition FCRBE

EXPOSITION Nous avons l'honneur de vous informer de l'ouverture de l’exposition mobile sur la deconstruction, conçue par Rotor à Bruxelles, dans le cadre d’un projet INTERREG appelé FCRBE. L’exposition est installée dans Petite Maison sur la Place de l'Université à Belval. L'exposition peut être visitée sur demande du lundi 19 décembre 22 jusqu'au 30 janvier 2023. Veuillez contacter dragos.ghioca@uni.lu ou carole.schmit@ext.uni.lu pour fixer le rendez-vous. Petite Maison est un projet initié par l’uni.lu avec les précieux apports des partenaires publics et privés du Luxembourg et de la Grande Région dans le cadre de Esch-sur Alzette European Capital of Culture 2022. Pour plus d’informations, veuillez consulter : https://petitemaison.lu/

Mehr lesen Read less
  • Architektur
  • Andere
Petite Maison, 2 Av. de l'Université, L-4365, Esch-sur-Alzette Belval
Englisch, Französisch
19 Jahre und 65

Diese Seite teilen

Über

Carole Schmit ist seit Ende 2015 als Architektin bei der Administration des bâtiments publics tätig und betreut Großprojekte. Zusätzlich zu diesen Funktionen ist sie seit fast 4 Jahren als Gastdozentin an der Universität Luxemburg im Rahmen des Masterstudiengangs für Architektur tätig. Bevor sie in den öffentlichen Dienst eintrat, war sie 15 Jahre lang Gründerin und geschäftsführende Gesellschafterin von Polaris Architects. Sie hat nachweislich Erfahrung mit der Planung und Überwachung von Qualitätsarbeiten. Ihre Rolle als Koordinatorin von multidisziplinären Teams und Arbeitsgruppen ist in der Fachwelt anerkannt. Infolgedessen wurden ihre persönlichen Arbeiten sowie die des Polaris-Büros mehrfach in den lokalen und internationalen Medien nominiert, ausgestellt und veröffentlicht. Neben ihrer Haupttätigkeit als Entwurfsarchitektin war Carole Schmit schon immer in der akademischen Welt tätig, vor allem durch ihre Lehrtätigkeit an verschiedenen Universitäten und insbesondere durch ihre Arbeit an der Einrichtung eines Masterstudiengangs für Architektur an der Universität Luxemburg. Darüber hinaus wird sie regelmäßig eingeladen, an Ausstellungsprojekten teilzunehmen, Artikel zu schreiben oder in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Einrichtungen zu unternehmen, insbesondere in Kunstzentren wie dem Mudam.

Dragos Ghioca ist Teil des Forschungs- und Designteams unter der Leitung von Carole Schmit an der Universität Luxemburg für das Projekt PETITE MAISON. Gemeinsam mit verschiedenen Fachleuten und Partnern entwickelt er im Rahmen der Europäischen Kulturhauptstadt Esch2022 das Projekt eines Gebäudes, das Zirkularität und resiliente Architektur thematisiert. Im Jahr 2019 schloss er den Master in Architecture, European Urbanisation and Globalisation an der Universität Luxemburg ab und wurde für seine Masterarbeit "Halle des Soufflantes - Industriekultur als räumliche Ressource" mit dem Preis des Ordre des Architectes ausgezeichnet. Bevor er nach Luxemburg kam, studierte er an der Universität für Architektur und Städtebau "Ion Mincu" in Bukarest, Rumänien, und an der Universität Lüttich, Belgien (B.Arch). Während seines Studiums in Luxemburg arbeitete er unter anderem am Museum für Moderne Kunst (MUDAM) und war als studentische Hilfskraft an verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Projekten beteiligt.