18.06.2022 - 04.09.2022

metalworks - designing & making

Alexandre Van Battel

18.06.2022 - 04.09.2022

Konschthal Esch, Esch-Alzette

See All events

Disciplines

Visual Arts, Design, Multidisciplinary

Curators

Georges Zigrand & Charlotte Masse.

Artists

Ron Arad, Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec, Destroyers/Builders, Christophe De la Fontaine, Tom Dixon, Konstantin Grcic, Thomas Heatherwick, Jakob Jørgensen, Xavier Lust, Sigve Knutson, Max Lamb, Joris Laarman, Philippe Malouin, Muller van Severen, PELLE, Lewis Power, Maarten van Severen, Studio Swine, Jonas Trampedach, Danny Venlet, Michael Young, Oskar Zieta.

Description

Through the exhibition metalworks - designing & making, the city of Esch-Alzette reconnects with its industrial past. Formerly known as the “Iron Metropolis” due to its steel and mining activity, Esch-Alzette has developed as a major center for the iron industry in Europe. This economic boom attracted multicultural populations until the late 1980s. Today, some of the industrial infrastructure is safeguarded and continues to operate, while other sites are being converted to contribute to the urban expansion of city.

In this historical and heritage context, the Konschthal will present the work of international artists who reconnect with the tradition of industrial know-how and the craft of art, whilst experimenting with new forms of production. The selected objects - unique pieces or editions - show how current formal languages are re-appropriating the techniques of metal transformation, in art and design. The intrinsic quality of each proposal will be revealed by the raw aesthetics of the space and the functional character of the scenography; thus, providing an immediate reading of the gesture and the manufacturing process in question.

This exhibition will be accompanied by a publication in two languages - English and French - and a framework program for the public.

On a curatorial proposal by Georges Zigrand.

Read more

Events

Opening hours

Thursday 11:00 – 20:00 
Friday, Saturday & Sunday 11:00 – 18:00 
Monday, Tuesday & Wednesday closed

18.06.2022 - 04.09.2022

  • Architecture/Design
  • Exposition
From 0 to 66+ years old

Share this page

About

Formerly a furniture store, the city acquired this building in 2020 to transform it into Konschthal Esch – a Space for Contemporary Art. The transformation of the building will last until mid-2022. With a full surface area of nearly 2400 m2, the Konschthal enjoys the benefits of exceptional spaces on 4 levels. A far cry from the classic White Cube, with its spaces stripped down, weight-bearing elements and rough-hewn structures such as concrete slabs and metal beams give it its unique appearance.

Georges Zigrand (b. 1971, Luxembourg) studied 3D design at the Haute école des arts du Rhin, Strasbourg. He moved to the UK shortly afterwards and gained his first ten years of professional experience while working for several high-profile design companies in London. In 2007 he moved back to Luxembourg where he started his own design studio and now works as an independent designer (georgeszigrand.com) on a range of different types of projects, from product and exhibition design to design strategies for institutional clients.

18.06.2022 - 04.09.2022

metalworks - designing & making

Alexandre Van Battel

18.06.2022 - 04.09.2022

Konschthal Esch, Esch-sur-Alzette

Voir les évènements

Disciplines

Arts visuels, Design, Pluridisciplinaire

Curateurs

Georges Zigrand & Charlotte Masse.

Artistes

Ron Arad, Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec, Destroyers/Builders, Christophe De la Fontaine, Tom Dixon, Konstantin Grcic, Thomas Heatherwick, Jakob Jørgensen, Xavier Lust, Sigve Knutson, Max Lamb, Joris Laarman, Philippe Malouin, Muller van Severen, PELLE, Lewis Power, Maarten van Severen, Studio Swine, Jonas Trampedach, Danny Venlet, Michael Young, Oskar Zieta.

Description

Avec l’exposition thématique metalworks – designing & making, la ville d’Esch-sur-Alzette renoue avec son passé industriel. Autrefois nommée « Métropole du fer » en raison de son activité sidérurgique et minière, Esch-sur-Alzette s’est développée comme centre majeur de l’industrie du fer en Europe. Cet élan économique a attiré des populations multiculturelles jusqu’à la fin des années 80. Aujourd’hui, une partie de l’infrastructure industrielle est sauvegardée et poursuit son activité tandis que d’autres sites sont reconvertis pour contribuer à l’expansion de la ville. 
 
Dans ce contexte historique et patrimonial, la Konschthal présentera les travaux d’artistes internationaux qui renouent avec la tradition du savoir-faire industriel et du métier d’art, et qui expérimentent avec de nouvelles formes de production. Les objets sélectionnés – pièces uniques ou éditions – témoignent comment, des langages formels actuels s’approprient les techniques de transformations du métal, dans l’art et le design. La qualité intrinsèque de chaque proposition sera révélée par l’esthétisme brut de l’espace et du caractère fonctionnel de la scénographie ; offrant ainsi une lecture immédiate du geste et du processus de fabrication en question. 
 
Cette exposition sera accompagnée d’une publication en deux langues – anglais et français – et d’un programme-cadre en direction des publics.

Sur la proposition curatoriale de Georges Zigrand.

en savoir plus

Evènements

Horaires d'ouverture

Jeudi 11h00 – 20h00 
Vendredi, samedi & dimanche 11h00 – 18h00 
Lundi, mardi & mercredi fermé

Partagez cette page

A propos

Ancien magasin de meubles, la ville a acquis ce bâtiment en 2020 pour le transformer en Konschthal Esch - Espace d'art contemporain. La transformation du bâtiment durera jusqu'à la mi-2022, tandis que, parallèlement aux travaux, les expositions seront visibles. Bénéficiant d'une surface totale de près de 2400m2, cette Konschthal jouit d'espaces d'exception sur 4 niveaux. Loin du White Cube classique, après une mise à nu des espaces, les éléments porteurs et structures bruts comme les dalles en béton et poutres métalliques lui donnent son apparence singulière.

Georges Zigrand (né en 1971 à Luxembourg) a étudié le design 3D à la Haute école des arts du Rhin, à Strasbourg. Il s'est installé au Royaume-Uni peu après et a acquis ses dix premières années d'expérience professionnelle en travaillant pour plusieurs sociétés de design de premier plan à Londres. En 2007, il est revenu au Luxembourg où il a créé son propre studio de design et travaille aujourd'hui en tant que designer indépendant (georgeszigrand.com) sur différents types de projets, allant du design de produits et d'expositions aux stratégies de design pour des clients institutionnels.