08.10.2022 - 31.12.2022

((( CDLR-76 )))

High Frequency Sonification
©Laura Mannelli

08.10.2022 - 31.12.2022

See All events

Disciplines

Architecture, Media arts, Fine Arts, Garden | Nature | Ecology, Heritage, Multidisciplinary

Project Partner

Laura Mannelli

Artists

Collaborations - Ghost station 1 : Antenna Gods by Dinah Bird and Jean Philippe Renoult // Ghost Station 2 : Albert Hames House stream by Spektrum // Ghost Station 3 and 4 : Mad Trix and surprise collaboration

Description

Have you heard about the mysterious CDLR-76 zone in Rumelange? The CDLR-76 zone is the scene of strange sound manifestations at an outdoor site. It reminds us of a phenomenon that has been much talked about and is still unexplained: the enigmatic Russian radio UBV-76. A mysterious radio that emits sound signals from an unknown transmitter. It transmits a humming sound about 25 times a minute, all day long, telephone conversations, Morse code, counting from 1 to 9 in a female voice and snippets from 'Swan Lake'. There are many theories about its origin and role, but none of them have been proven to date. A similar phenomenon has been observed at a former mining site in the commune of Rumelange. It is now known as the CDLR-76 zone. C D L R stands for Cedric, Damiano, Laura and Ruth, who were the first to observe the phenomenon during a walk. The number 76 as a reference to the Russian radio. At this site you don't perceive anything particular. However, without expecting it, you find yourself immersed in swirling sounds. You hear what sounds like station changes on a badly tuned radio. You hear conversations, yet there is no one there. The mystery remains. For anyone interested in the area, there is a dedicated website that records its activity. If you have any information about this mystery, please come forward.

Text provided by the project partner

Read more

Events

08.10.2022 - 31.12.2022

Activation de la zone

Découvrez la zone CDLR : http://g-o.lu/3/sawY

Read more Read less
  • Architecture
  • Digital
Coordonnées Long/Lat WGS84 suivantes : 6.02735 E | 49.46075 N, Rumelange

Free

More info

Share this page

About

Trained as an architect, Laura Mannelli is a Luxembourgish artist and director who divides her life between Paris, Luxembourg and the networks. She likes to explore the digital world by developing a experience at the crossroads of visual arts, virtual realities, video games and architecture. Co-founder of the Atopic Festival, one of the first European festivals dedicated to virtual reality and machinimas, she has also exhibited at the TriBeCa film festival in New York and at the Palais de Tokyo and the Centre Pompidou in Paris, among others. Nominated and awarded, her works, at the heart of digital creation processes, encourage a multidisciplinary and collective approach to creation.

MAD TRIX is a collective of artists from different backgrounds based in Differdange, where they carry out each stage of their projects, from conception to completion. Enjoying challenges in the field of new media, the collective functions as a training workshop and follows an approach based on playful experimentation, curiosity and collaboration. Installations such as Neu.Bau, a 360° video projection project, the urban interactive sound garden Trialogue or Soundcolors, an inclusive, playful and revisited instrument - have given them experience in the world of new media art. Mad Trix is also open to collaborations with larger partner structures in order to bring their projects to life.

08.10.2022 - 31.12.2022

((( CDLR-76 )))

High Frequency Sonification
©Laura Mannelli

08.10.2022 - 31.12.2022

Voir les évènements

Disciplines

Architecture, Arts numériques, Arts plastiques, Jardin / Nature / Ecologie, Patrimoine, Pluridisciplinaire

Porteur de projet

Laura Mannelli

Artistes

Collaborations - Ghost station 1 : Antenna Gods by Dinah Bird and Jean Philippe Renoult // Ghost Station 2 : Albert Hames House stream by Spektrum // Ghost Station 3 and 4 : Mad Trix and surprise collaboration

Description

Avez-vous entendu parler de la mystérieuse zone CDLR-76 de Rumelange? La zone CDLR-76 est le théâtre d’étranges manifestations sonores sur un site en extérieur. Elle rappelle un phénomène qui a fait couler beaucoup d’encre et reste à ce jour encore inexpliqué: L’énigmatique radio Russe UBV-76. Une mystérieuse radio qui émet des signaux sonores depuis un émetteur inconnu. Elle transmet un bourdonnement environ 25 fois par minute, toute la journée, des conversations téléphoniques, du morse, un décompte de 1 à 9 d’une voix féminine ainsi que des bribes du «Lac des cygnes». Les théories concernant son origine et son rôle sont nombreuses, mais aucune d’elles n’a été prouvée à ce jour. Un phénomène similaire est observé sur un ancien site minier de la commune de Rumelange. Il est désormais connu sous le nom de la zone CDLR-76. C D L R reprennent les initiales de Cedric, Damiano, Laura et Ruth, qui au hasard d’une promenade ont été les premiers à observer le phénomène. Le chiffre 76 comme référence à la radio Russe. Sur ce site vous ne percevez rien de particulier. Pourtant sans que vous ne vous y attendiez, vous vous retrouvez immergés dans des tourbillons sonores. Vous percevez comme des changements de stations d’une radio mal réglée. Vous entendez des conversations, pourtant il n’y a personne. Le mystère reste entier. Pour toute personne intéressée par la zone, un site web dédié retranscrit son activité. Si vous disposez d’information sur ce mystère manifestez-vous.

Texte fourni par le partenaire du projet

en savoir plus

Evènements

08.10.2022 - 31.12.2022

Activation de la zone

Découvrez la zone CDLR : http://g-o.lu/3/sawY

en savoir plus Read less
  • Architecture
  • Numérique / Digital

Gratuit

Partagez cette page

A propos

Architecte de formation, Laura Mannelli est une artiste et réalisatrice luxembourgeoise qui partage sa vie entre Paris, Luxembourg et les réseaux. C’est l’univers numérique qu’elle aime à explorer en développant une pratique au croisement des arts plastiques, des réalités virtuelles, du jeu vidéo et de l’architecture. Co-fondatrice du Festival Atopic, un des premiers festivals européens dédié aux réalités virtuelles et aux machinimas, elle a également exposé, entre autres, au festival de film TriBeCa à New York ou encore au Palais de Tokyo et au Centre Pompidou à Paris. Nommées et primées, ses œuvres, au cœur des processus de création numérique, impulsent une approche pluridisciplinaire et collective de la création.

MAD TRIX est un collectif d’artistes d’horizons différents basés à Differdange, où ils réalisent chacune des étapes de leurs projets, de la conception à la réalisation. Aimant relever des défis dans le champ des nouveaux médias, le collectif fonctionne comme un atelier formateur et suit une approche basée sur l’expérimentation ludique, la curiosité et la collaboration. Des installations comme Neu.Bau, un projet de vidéo-projection 360°, le jardin sonore, urbain et interactif Trialogue ou encore Soundcolors, un instrument inclusif, ludique et revisité - leur ont permis d’acquérir de l’expérience dans le monde de l’art new media. Par ailleurs Mad Trix est ouvert aux collaborations avec des structures partenaires plus grandes afin de donner vie à leurs projets.