18.06.2022 - 04.09.2022

metalworks - designing & making

Alexandre Van Battel

18.06.2022 - 04.09.2022

Konschthal Esch, Esch-Alzette

See All events

Disciplines

Visual Arts, Design, Multidisciplinary

Curators

Georges Zigrand & Charlotte Masse.

Artists

Ron Arad, Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec, Destroyers/Builders, Christophe De la Fontaine, Tom Dixon, Konstantin Grcic, Thomas Heatherwick, Jakob Jørgensen, Xavier Lust, Sigve Knutson, Max Lamb, Joris Laarman, Philippe Malouin, Muller van Severen, PELLE, Lewis Power, Maarten van Severen, Studio Swine, Jonas Trampedach, Danny Venlet, Michael Young, Oskar Zieta.

Description

Through the exhibition metalworks - designing & making, the city of Esch-Alzette reconnects with its industrial past. Formerly known as the “Iron Metropolis” due to its steel and mining activity, Esch-Alzette has developed as a major center for the iron industry in Europe. This economic boom attracted multicultural populations until the late 1980s. Today, some of the industrial infrastructure is safeguarded and continues to operate, while other sites are being converted to contribute to the urban expansion of city.

In this historical and heritage context, the Konschthal will present the work of international artists who reconnect with the tradition of industrial know-how and the craft of art, whilst experimenting with new forms of production. The selected objects - unique pieces or editions - show how current formal languages are re-appropriating the techniques of metal transformation, in art and design. The intrinsic quality of each proposal will be revealed by the raw aesthetics of the space and the functional character of the scenography; thus, providing an immediate reading of the gesture and the manufacturing process in question.

This exhibition will be accompanied by a publication in two languages - English and French - and a framework program for the public.

On a curatorial proposal by Georges Zigrand.

Read more

Events

Opening hours

Thursday 11:00 – 20:00 
Friday, Saturday & Sunday 11:00 – 18:00 
Monday, Tuesday & Wednesday closed

18.06.2022 - 04.09.2022

  • Architecture/Design
  • Exposition
From 0 to 66+ years old

Share this page

About

Formerly a furniture store, the city acquired this building in 2020 to transform it into Konschthal Esch – a Space for Contemporary Art. The transformation of the building will last until mid-2022. With a full surface area of nearly 2400 m2, the Konschthal enjoys the benefits of exceptional spaces on 4 levels. A far cry from the classic White Cube, with its spaces stripped down, weight-bearing elements and rough-hewn structures such as concrete slabs and metal beams give it its unique appearance.

Georges Zigrand (b. 1971, Luxembourg) studied 3D design at the Haute école des arts du Rhin, Strasbourg. He moved to the UK shortly afterwards and gained his first ten years of professional experience while working for several high-profile design companies in London. In 2007 he moved back to Luxembourg where he started his own design studio and now works as an independent designer (georgeszigrand.com) on a range of different types of projects, from product and exhibition design to design strategies for institutional clients.

18.06.2022 - 04.09.2022

metalworks - designing & making

Alexandre Van Battel

18.06.2022 - 04.09.2022

Konschthal Esch, Esch-Alzette

Alle Veranstaltungen anzeigen

Disziplinen

Bildende Kunst, Design, Multidisziplinär

Kuratoren

Georges Zigrand & Charlotte Masse.

Künstler

Ron Arad, Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec, Destroyers/Builders, Christophe De la Fontaine, Tom Dixon, Konstantin Grcic, Thomas Heatherwick, Jakob Jørgensen, Xavier Lust, Sigve Knutson, Max Lamb, Joris Laarman, Philippe Malouin, Muller van Severen, PELLE, Lewis Power, Maarten van Severen, Studio Swine, Jonas Trampedach, Danny Venlet, Michael Young, Oskar Zieta.

Description

Mit der Themenausstellung metalworks - designing & making, knüpft die Stadt Esch-Alzette an ihre industrielle Vergangenheit an. Früher wegen seiner Stahl- und Bergbautätigkeit als „Metropole des Ei-sens“ bekannt, hat sich Esch-Alzette zu einem wichtigen Zentrum der Eisenindustrie in Europa entwickelt. Dieser Wirtschaftsboom zog bis Ende der 1980er Jahre multikulturelle Bevölkerungsgruppen an. Heute wird ein Teil der industriellen Infrastruktur gesichert und weiter betrieben, während andere Standorte umgebaut werden, um zur Expansion der Stadt beizutragen.

In diesem historischen und historischen Kontext präsentiert das Konschthal die Arbeiten internationaler Künstler, die an die Tradition des industriellen Know-hows und des Kunsthandwerks anknüpfen und mit neuen Produktionsformen experimentieren. Die ausgewählten Objekte – Unikate oder Editionen – zeigen, wie sich aktuelle Formensprachen die Techniken der Metallumwandlung in Kunst und Design aneignen. Die intrinsische Qualität jedes Vorschlags wird durch die rohe Ästhetik des Raums und den funktionalen Charakter der Szenografie offenbart; wodurch ein sofortiges Verständnis der Geste und des Herstellungsprozesses ermöglicht wird.

Begleitet wird diese Ausstellung von einer Publikation in zwei Sprachen – Englisch und Französisch – und einem Rahmenprogramm für die Öffentlichkeit.

Auf kuratorischen Vorschlag von Georges Zigrand.

Mehr lesen

Veranstaltungen

Öffnungszeiten

Donnerstag 11 bis 20 Uhr geöffnet 
Freitag, Samstag & Sonntag  11 bis 18 Uhr geöffnet 
Montag, Dienstag & Mittwoch geschlossen

Diese Seite teilen

Über

Das Gebäude der heutigen Konschthal Esch - Contemporary Art Space, ein ehemaliges Möbelhaus, erwarb die Stadt im Jahr 2020 und baute es entsprechend um. Die Transformation des Gebäudes wird bis Mitte 2022 andauern. Mit einer Gesamtfläche von fast 2.400 m2 auf vier Ebenen stehen der Konschthal außergewöhnliche Räumlichkeiten zur Verfügung. Die Freilegung der tragenden Elemente und rohen Strukturen wie Betonplatten und Metallträger verleihen der Konschthal fernab des klassischen White Cubes ihr einzigartiges Erscheinungsbild.

Georges Zigrand (geb. 1971, Luxemburg) studierte 3D-Design an der Haute école des arts du Rhin in Straßburg. Nach seinem Abschluss zieht er nach England, wo er 10 Jahren lang erste Berufserfahrung in mehreren renommierten Designunternehemen in London sammelt. 2007 kehrt er nach Luxemburg zurück und gründet sein eigenes Designstudio. Er arbeitet fortan als selbstständiger Designer (georgeszigrand.com) an unterschiedlichsten Projekten. Diese reichen von Produkt- und Ausstellungsdesign bis hin zu Designstrategien für institutionelle Kunden.